Entertaining

Fall Reading List

Written by
Stephanie Lysaght
PHOTOGRAPHS BY
Book of the Month

Boo! It’s fall, fool – meaning Halloween is right around the corner. So get in the spirit with these scary reads. From true crime to horror stories to psychological thrillers, our list of haunting tales will leave you hiding under the covers!

@annemiekevantillo for Instagram
01

‘Sleeping Beauties,’ by Stephen King and Owen King

No list of scary stories would be complete without the godfather, Stephen King. His newest novel, “Sleeping Beauties,” is a collaboration with his son, Owen (awww). In the imagined future world of this novel, women go into another dimension when they sleep and become violent when awakened. Ultimately, the story imagines a world without women, which is SPOILER ALERT: Terrifying.

01

‘Sleeping Beauties,’ by Stephen King and Owen King

No list of scary stories would be complete without the godfather, Stephen King. His newest novel, “Sleeping Beauties,” is a collaboration with his son, Owen (awww). In the imagined future world of this novel, women go into another dimension when they sleep and become violent when awakened. Ultimately, the story imagines a world without women, which is SPOILER ALERT: Terrifying.

My Book Bath
02

‘The Haunting of Hill House,’ by Shirley Jackson

For some throwback spooks, read Shirley Jackson’s eerie “The Haunting of Hill House.” Stephen King called it “as nearly perfect a haunted house tale as I have ever read.” And he’s read every Stephen King book! Originally published in 1959, Jackson’s novel tells the story of four people who decide to spend their summer together in the haunted “Hill House,” and wind up facing terrors beyond their wildest nightmares.

02

‘The Haunting of Hill House,’ by Shirley Jackson

For some throwback spooks, read Shirley Jackson’s eerie “The Haunting of Hill House.” Stephen King called it “as nearly perfect a haunted house tale as I have ever read.” And he’s read every Stephen King book! Originally published in 1959, Jackson’s novel tells the story of four people who decide to spend their summer together in the haunted “Hill House,” and wind up facing terrors beyond their wildest nightmares.

Melbourne Writers Festival
03

‘Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI,’ by David Grann

We all know truth is stranger than fiction, but it turns out truth is scarier than fiction, too. In “Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI,” David Grann tells the haunting, true story of the murders of dozens of Osage Indians in the 1920s. The tragic reason: Their land had oil.

03

‘Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI,’ by David Grann

We all know truth is stranger than fiction, but it turns out truth is scarier than fiction, too. In “Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI,” David Grann tells the haunting, true story of the murders of dozens of Osage Indians in the 1920s. The tragic reason: Their land had oil.

Jade Umbrella
04

‘Y is for Yesterday,’ by Sue Grafton

Sue Grafton fans rejoice! The penultimate novel in her famed Alphabet series is here: “Y is for Yesterday.” In it, four boys commit an unthinkable crime during their prep school days. Now it’s decades later, and they – to varying degrees – have moved on. That is, until a newly discovered tape appears, changing everything.

04

‘Y is for Yesterday,’ by Sue Grafton

Sue Grafton fans rejoice! The penultimate novel in her famed Alphabet series is here: “Y is for Yesterday.” In it, four boys commit an unthinkable crime during their prep school days. Now it’s decades later, and they – to varying degrees – have moved on. That is, until a newly discovered tape appears, changing everything.

Reading in Heels
05

‘The Party,’ by Elizabeth Day

When a bunch of pals get together for a 40th birthday party, what could possibly go wrong? Only everything. A psychological thriller in the vein of Patricia Highsmith, Elizabeth Day’s new novel, “The Party,” has it all: Wealth, fame, danger, lust and a violent crime.

05

‘The Party,’ by Elizabeth Day

When a bunch of pals get together for a 40th birthday party, what could possibly go wrong? Only everything. A psychological thriller in the vein of Patricia Highsmith, Elizabeth Day’s new novel, “The Party,” has it all: Wealth, fame, danger, lust and a violent crime.

September 19, 2017
  • Tags
  • book club